California Wage and Hour Laws

In California, there are many wage and hour laws that protect employees from being unfairly treated in the workplace-especially in terms of compensation for the work completed. Unfortunately, many employers do not adhere to the laws and regulations that protect Californian employees. In fact, many employees are unaware of all the wage and hour laws that protect them. Employees’ lack of information-and a general lack of resources to get such information-makes it simple for employers to get away with infringing employment laws.

Do you believe that your employer infringed your basic rights as an employer? Did your employer fail to pay you for the hours that you worked? Did your employer force you to work unreasonable hours? If you believe that your employer violated California’s wage and hour laws, do not hesitate to seek legal assistance as you might have grounds to file a lawsuit and receive compensation.

California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group is an employment law firm with many years of experience handling employment claims and helping employees fight for their rights. If your employer has withheld your wages or infringed California’s wage and hour laws in any way, you might have the right to sue and be compensated. The employment attorneys at California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group will aggressively fight for your rights as an employee. If you are ready to allow our employment lawyers to handle your claim against your employer, do not hesitate to contact our law firm as soon as possible.

California Wage and Hour Laws

What are California’s Wage and Hour Laws?

There are many wage and hour laws in California that protect all employees from unjust treatment. Consider the following:

  • Minimum wage in California is $10.50 for employers with 25 or fewer employees and $11 for employers with 26 or more employees (rates are based on 2018 numbers and are subject to change in the coming years).
  • Tipped employees are not subject to lower minimum wages.
  • Employees who work more than 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week are subject to overtime pay.
  • Employees who work 12 hours or more per day are subject to double-pay.
  • Employees who work a seventh consecutive day are subject for time-and-a-half pay for the first 8 hours worked and double-pay for any additional hours worked.
  • Employees are entitled to a meal break of a minimum of 30 minutes after working 5 hours (with the exception of workdays to be completed within 6 hours).
  • Employees are entitled to a second meal break period when working more than 12 hours per day.
  • Employees are entitled to 10-minute rest periods (paid) for every four hours worked.

If you believe that your employer violated any of the wage and hour laws mentioned above, you must seek legal assistance as soon as possible as you might have grounds to pursue a claim. For more information about California’s wage and hour laws, contact California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group today.

Examples of Wage and Hour Law Violations

Unfortunately, wage and hour law violations are very common. A few examples are listed below:

  • Failure to pay overtime correctly (paid at the regular rate or incorrect rate)
  • Failure to pay tipped employees the minimum wage
  • Failure to pay employees the minimum wage
  • Failure to pay employees the tips they earned
  • Failure to provide employees with double-pay when applicable.

If you were a victim of any of the sample violations mentioned above, you must take action as soon as possible. For information about what you could do if you were the victim of wage and hour violations, do not hesitate to contact California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group today.

What Could You Do If Your Employer Violated California’s Wage and Hour Laws?

Could you do anything if your employer violated the state’s wage and hour laws? If your employer violated California’s wage and hour laws, you could take action against your employer. In terms of taking action against an employer that violated California’s wage and hour laws, you have a few options.

Can I be forced to work overtime?

One of your options includes filing a claim with the Department of Industrial Relations. The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) is a segment of the Labor & Workforce Development Agency that protects and aims to improve the “health, safety, and economic wellbeing” of Californian employers. The DIR fulfills its purpose by ensuring that employers comply with the state’s employment laws. If your employer failed to adhere to wage and hour laws, you could file a claim with the DIR, for instance. The DIR will investigate your claim and work towards a resolution between you and your employer.

Your other option is to seek legal assistance from an employment attorney. If you contact a lawyer, you could pursue an employment claim against your employer. If the claim is successful, your employer will likely have to compensate you for any unpaid wages that you are owed.

If you would like to learn more about what you could do if your employer violated California’s wage and hour laws, you must contact our attorneys as soon as possible. The employment experts at California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group will provide you with all the information that you need to make a decision regarding the action to take against your employer.

Understanding the Time You Have to Act

All claims are subject to a specific timeline. If claimants do not file their claims within the time allowed by the applicable statute of limitations, they could lose their right to file claims and receive compensation. If you are filing your claim with the DIR, your claim might be subject to timelines of 2 to 4 years depending on your claim. For instance, if your claim is based on a breach of an oral agreement, you would have 2 years to file your claim. If your claim is based on a violation of a law or regulation, you would have 3 years to file your claim. If your claim is based on a breach of a written agreement, you would have 4 years to file your claim.

If you are filing a civil claim, however, the time allowed to pursue your claim is different. A wage and hour violation is likely to fall under the cause of action of contracts, for example. If there is an oral contract, you would have 2 years to file a civil claim. If there is a written contract, there are 4 years to file your claim.

If you would like more information about the specific timeline that applies to your employment claim, do not hesitate to contact the employment experts at California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group as soon as possible. Our employment attorneys will provide you with the guidance that you need.

California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group

Do you believe that your employer infringed your rights as an employee? Did your employer violate state wage and hour laws? If your employer has victimized you by consistently violated wage and hour laws, you have to stand up for yourself and your basic rights. You must contact our law firm as soon as possible. California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group is an employment law firm dedicated to representing all employees who have been deprived of their basic rights in the workplace. If your employer has failed to pay you the time that you worked, you should take action as soon as possible. Our employment lawyers are ready to evaluate your current situation and provide you with the guidance that you need to pursue a claim.

California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group offers both free consultations and free second opinions. During our free consultations and free second opinions, our employment attorneys will answer all your questions, address all your concerns, and provide you with all the information that you need to take action against your employer. It does not matter if you are interested in starting or redirecting your claim, our employment attorneys will provide you with all the information that you need. If you decide to file your claim with our attorneys, our Zero-Fee guarantee will ensure that you will never have to pay any upfront legal fees. Our strict contingency structure will also ensure that you will not have to pay anything until your claim is successful. If you are ready to discuss your claim with our knowledgeable employment attorneys, contact our law firm today.

Client Testimonials

FREE CONSULTATION

FREE CONSULTATION

      Available 24/7            Immediate Response            Experienced Lawyers     

Available 24/7 Immediate Response

OVER $120 MILLION RECOVERED

© 2019 - California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.