Two car washes located in Los Angeles-Silver Lake Car Wash Inc. (3539 Beverly Blvd.) and Catalina Car Wash Inc. (4000 Beverly)- will be required to pay more than $1 million to employees. According to the claims coming from a number of car wash employees, they were paid as little as $4.50 an hour. Overall, the car washes will be required to pay the following:
- Between $17,000 and $40,000 in back wages
- $519,027 in civil penalties
- $35,996 in legal fees
As mentioned above, the car wash employees claimed to only receive $4.50 an hour. Their workdays were often 10 hours long, resulting in receiving only about $40 for a whole day’s worth of work. In addition to the unreasonably and unlawfully low hourly rate for car wash employees, the employer also failed to provide break periods and overtime pay. The car washes consistently falsified their payroll information-underreporting the hours that their employees were working.
The settlement resulted in approximately 60 employees receiving the wages that they were owed. The car washes will also be strictly monitored for a total of four years-to ensure that they consistently comply with California’s wage laws.
Overview of California’s Employment Laws
California has a number of employment laws that protect employee wages. Consider the following laws-all of which were violated by the Los Angeles car washes:
- California employers with 26 or more employees are subject to an $11.00 minimum wage rate.
- California employers with 25 or fewer employees are subject to a $10.50 minimum wage rate.
- California employers must provide overtime pay at 1.5 times the employee’s hourly rate for the hours worked in excess of the normal 40-hour workweek, 8-hour workday, or 7th day of consecutive work.
- California employers must provide double pay for overtime pay for the hours worked in excess of 12 hours or in excess of 8 hours on the 7th day of consecutive work.
- California employers must provide their employees with a meal period (unpaid) of at least 30 minutes when working more than 5 hours.
- California employers must provide their employees with a 10-minute break period (paid) for every 4 hours worked.
Unfortunately, many employers are quick to take advantage of their employees-especially if their employees are unaware of their rights in the workplace. If you were the victim of wage theft, you must speak up as soon as possible and seek legal assistance. Discussing your current situation with an employment attorney could provide you with the tools that you need to understand your rights as an employee and your rights to pursue a lawsuit to recover the wages of which you were cheated.
California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group-Your Right to Sue
Do you believe that you were the victim of wage theft? If so, you might have grounds to pursue legal action against your employer. Many people believe that their employers will never act wrongfully against their employees; however, many employers are quick to take advantage or hardworking employees-especially when it comes to wages. If you believe that you are among the victims of wage theft, do not hesitate to contact California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group at your earliest convenience.
If you were deprived of the wages that you rightfully earned, you might have grounds to pursue a claim against your employer and recover compensation. California law protects workers-do not hesitate to allow our employment experts to handle your claim and hold your employer responsible for their unjust actions towards you and other employees.
California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group is an employment law firm dedicated to fighting for the rights of all victims of wage theft. If you find yourself in need of legal assistance, do not hesitate to contact our law firm and request to speak to our knowledgeable employment attorneys. Our lawyers will be available to answer all of your questions and address all of your concerns. Our employment experts will provide you with all the information that you need to pursue a successful claim against your employer. California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group offers both free consultations and free second opinions. It does not matter if you are interested in beginning your claim or if you are looking to redirect your claim after dealing with an incompetent lawyer; you could trust the attorneys at California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group to provide you with the legal assistance that you need.
Our free legal services are available as part of our Zero-Fee guarantee -a guarantee that you will never be required to pay any upfront legal fees for any of our legal services. California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group is also strictly based on contingency; therefore, you will not be required to pay anything until your claim reaches a successful outcome. If you do not win, you will not pay. If you would like to discuss your wage theft claim with the employment experts at California Labor Law Employment Attorneys Group, do not hesitate to contact us as soon as possible.